Crave

 

download-1
Click the Image

Crave was the first single released from The Butterfly Effects’ first studio album, Begins Here. At first glance, the video clip for Crave appears typical for alternative metal rock bands.

The most distinct narrative element to the music video clip for Crave is the interaction between the lyrics, the tone and harmony of Clint Boge, and his body movements and facial expressions. The lyrics of the song depict the protagonist’s longing desire for someone who scorns them. In the video, Clint Boge moves about as if he is in pain, often doubling over, writhing about and raising his hands as if pleading. Close-up shots of Boge’s face reveal that he is almost crying as he sings. The actions and expressions of Clint Boge illustrate the emotion in the message of Crave, and although Clint Boge’s voice is melodious, the tone is reminiscent of pleading, begging and crying.

Notably, the other band members appear little more than subdued in the clip. This could reflect the seclusion and loneliness the protagonist feels in this situation. The protagonist’s friends are with him, but he alone is experiencing the anguish.

Another narrative element is the cables littering the set for the duration of the music video clip. At 3:21, the clip flashed to a mixer, with cables protruding, reminiscent of a heart, with arteries and veins protruding. The visual imagery of this could reflect a heart that is broken, messy, or machine like from pain.

 CRAVE (Lyrics)
When you crave
Hurts like slave
More the pain
Hold on when it feels like I only want you
And I’ll bleed
Only for you 

When you lie
Damaged
I crawl like flies

Hold on, when it feels like flies, oh, crawling their way through me cause I’m empty, I’m empty like you made me
When it burns like lies and all I want is you won’t I but it hates me, it hates me like you hate me

Yeah you do, crave

You
Me
Always and forever yeah
It’s hard to be strong when I crave you like I do

Hold on, when it feels like flies I’m only waiting you want me down but I’m empty, I’m empty like you made me
When it burns like lies and all I want is you won’t I but it hates me, it hates me like you Hate me

Leave a Reply

